Detail from Sludgehammer New Album, The Fallen Sun

Detail from Sludgehammer New Album, The Fallen Sun, Detail from Sludgehammer New Album The Fallen Sun

Detail from Sludgehammer New Album, The Fallen Sun

Canadian metallers SLUDGEHAMMER have a single objective: to crush audiences with their penetrating and abrasive brand of thrash-tinged death metal. The band was forged in Canada’s heavy metal hub of Toronto and is driven to satisfy an audience that craves ferocity. The five piece began when guitarist Jeff Wilson and drummer Fernando Villalobos were jamming together in 2013. The two soon discovered that they were drafting song after song and needed to fill out their line up, which led to the discovery of Chris Szarota, who possesses a distinct level of aggression as a vocalist. Next to join the band was spitfire Dan Ayers who continues to prove his dominance and prowess on bass and vocals, and finally Tyler Williams stepping up to the plate on guitar and delivering punishing riffs. This would become the final incarnation of SLUDGEHAMMER that pounds out track after track of punishing metal.

Detail from Sludgehammer New Album, The Fallen Sun, Detail from Sludgehammer New Album The Fallen Sun

L-R – Chris Szarota – Vocals, Jeff Wilson – Guitars, Tyler Williams – Guitars, Dan Ayers – Bass/Vocals, Fernando Villalobos- Drums – Credit: Hayden John Wolf
Live, the band is a roaring waterfall with the audience standing precariously at the edge waiting to be engulfed by the sheer force. Their name portrays an accurate description of the band’s sound and intent; sludgy grooves and beats, forged with a hammer, methodically with the up-most precision. The band released their debut EP ‘Organ Harvester’ in 2014 that features their invariable dual vocals. Around that time, Tyler Williams joined the band as a permanent fixture and has breathed new life into the older material as well as recorded their sophomore release ‘The Fallen Sun’ full length, which is set for release on June 10th, 2016. SLUDGEHAMMER still continues to pump out release after release with another one already slated for 2017.

Lyrical content for the band acts as a medium by channeling a dark and sinister spirit that is unforgiving and relentless, a perfect pair for the instrumentals. With titles like ‘Carrion Eater” and “Utopia” the quintet endorse an individual’s pursuit to survival and satisfy all needs, no matter how calloused. 2016 is gearing up to be a big year for SLUDGEHAMMER. With their upcoming album, metal fans can expect to see more of the Toronto heavy hitters. Read more about the band and future plans here:

Sludgehammer - Carion Eater:

1. Demons From The Woodwork (4:02)
2. Intestines Entwined (5:02)
3. The Black Abyss (6:29)
4. Ectogenesis (4:34)
5. Carrion Eater (5:56)
6. Consuming Afterbirth (4:34)
7. Carnivorous Forest (5:08)
8. Utopian (5:45)
9. Revolting (4:46)
10. Organ Harvester (4:51)
11. Casualties (4:34)
Album Length: 55:48

Album Credits:
• All songs performed by: Sludgehammer
• All songs written by: Sludgehammer
• Produced by: Sludgehammer
• Mixed by: Tyler Williams
• Mastered by: Lasse Lammert

Album Band & Live Line Up:
Chris Szarota –Vocals
Jeff Wilson –Guitars
Tyler Williams- Guitars
Dan Ayers- Bass, Vocals
Fernando Villalobos- Drums

0 Response to "Detail from Sludgehammer New Album, The Fallen Sun"

Post a Comment

BDP Metal is Heavy Metal Blog from Cirebon, West Java, Indonesia.